The start to (what I thought was) my end

For sometime I’ve wanted to tell my story, but I wasn’t exactly sure if anyone cared to listen. Then I realized… quite frankly I don’t give a damn. These are words that I am choosing to write for no one other than myself and for those who care to read them of course.

(Disclaimer: I am extremely terrible at spelling and using correct grammar. So if you are the “perfectionist type” you might want to look away!)

My childhood was perfection. You couldn’t have painted a better family picture then The Fanelli’s. My dad was a hardworking man who gave us everything he possibly could have. (I bet you noticed I used past tense there.. I will get to that later) My mom was a stay at home mom who dedicated her life to her children and making sure we had everything we needed to succeed in life. With those two raising us my two brothers and I were on the road to success!

Looking back at my childhood now I didn’t realize how good I had it until I didn’t have it anymore..

My childhood was ripped out of my hands faster than a present-greedy kid on christmas. At the age of 16 I was forced to learn what the world was about and what really went on behind close doors in my house.

January 24th 2012

It was Mid-term week for us Dix Hills students, and this student was over tired and missed the bus that day. My mother was kind enough to offer to drive me to school. We had some extra time before we had to leave, so we sat on the couch and watched the news together in silence. I had no idea this would be the last time I saw my father. He came into the den and said “No school today?” I filled him in that I had missed the bus and would be leaving shortly. He said nothing and turned around. (This did not seem odd to me because I was going through some teenage bullshit which made my relationship with my family {and myself} terrible at the time.) But if I knew what I knew now I would’ve stopped that man dead in his tracks and slapped some reality into him.

My mom dropped me off, I took my test and got on the BOCES bus to go to hair school. All was going as usual. My classmates and I were killing time by practicing some up-do’s on our manikin’s when I received the text message that would change my life. My next door neighbor texted me “Gi why are there cop cars and an ambulance at your house?!” My heart sank..

I immediately thought the worst.  I run to the bathroom in a panic and call my mom. She doesn’t answer. I start having a panic attack at this point. (If walls had any sort of feeling I would owe this one an apology because I was punching it like I was Ronda Rousey in a cage fight.) I call once more. My Aunt Irene answers this time with a nervous “Hey G…!” I ask for my mother and she told me she was busy doing something. I heard the fear and overwhelmed tone in her voice, I know something is definitely up. I insisted I speak to my mother immediately. She gets on the phone and I ask “What the hell is going on, why did I get a text asking about an ambulance in front of our house?! WHERE IS DAD?” She just kept repeating while choking back tears “He is fine, your Uncle is coming to pick you up from school he will be there soon..” At this point my teacher is banging on the bathroom door insisting I let her in because she had no clue what was going on. I opened the door and lost my shit. Completely lost my SHIT.

They put me in the conference room where an entire group of teachers tried to calm me down and help me try to make sense of what was going on. I thought my father was being arrested for killing my boyfriend at the time. So I was mentally pre-paring myself for not being able to see him for a while. (Who would’ve thought a while would’ve actually been forever) After what seemed like years my Uncle finally showed up. The car ride was silent but my thoughts weren’t, I prayed to my Grandfather in heaven that my dad would be alright the entire car ride home. I broke the silence with one question and asked “Is my father okay.” My Uncle told me that he had no clue what was going on, all he knew was that he had to come get me and get me home ASAP.

We pulled up to my house and when I got inside my Grandpa♥ smuthered me with a hug. I didn’t see anyone yet, My grandfather immediately hugged me and cried on me. Once he released me I laid eyes on my mother and my heart fucking shattered. She was ghostly pale, her eyes where beat red and full of tears. I asked “Where is dad? When can I see him.” She broke down in more tears and said “…He’s gone.” I dropped to the floor and couldn’t speak. I felt like time was frozen. I next saw that my brother Frank was in the room, he held my mom and they just cried with me. She explained to me that she had found him and that first responders said it was a heart attack. I screamed on the top of my lungs “THIS IS MY FAULT.. I’M SO SORRY DAD… I’M SO SORRY.” Over and over again. I blamed myself for it all because of the stress I was putting my family through at the time. I couldn’t believe he was gone.

The funeral is a blur to me (Thank you to all that came and supported my family and I during those times.) I don’t remember much other than the fact that my dad had touched so many people’s hearts. The line was out the door and down the block to get in. Everyone who I met that night had a great story to tell about my father, and they all said the same thing to me. “He was a hard-working man who adored you and your mom and brothers.” Those words that everyone had told me where true but I couldn’t stand the overwhelming feelings of guilt that I carried with me. I thought I caused my father’s heart attack and that I was the reason he was gone.

Things got quite after the funeral was over, It gave me time to think. I knew something did not add up about my father’s death. I asked my mom for months about what happened, I just couldn’t understand it. He was so healthy, it was so odd to me that he just dropped dead like that. After a while I gave up and just wrapped my head around the fact that he was gone and that was the reason. Until one night when I had a dream. (Gianna Luther King)

(Disclaimer: THIS NEXT PARAGRAPH IS NOT A LIE AND MAY SHOCK SOME OF YOU.)

I had a dream around 2 years after my father’s death. My father sat me down at my kitchen table and told me that he had committed suicide in my yard that morning when my mom went to go drop me off for school. He wanted me to hear it from him and he thought I needed to know the truth. And for everyone who does not know.. It unfortunately is the truth I later found out when I woke up. My father, the most amazing man in the world took his own life on January 24th 2012 due to depression from pain killers he was prescribed from a work injury. It is an open wound that time will not heal for my family and I and we deal with it everyday of our lives.

I chose to share this story to help give you all an understanding of what I have gone through. It may help explain the way I am and why I react to certain things the way I do. I recently have made a lot of changes in my life and starting to write more is one of those changes I am making. Without my father dying I would not be where I am today, I have learned from his mistakes and I have grown with it. It has made me into the women I am today. I thank all of those who have take the time to have read my story and I hope it sheds some light on things for others. ∴

15 comments

  1. Julia grand (prez carter) · October 22, 2015

    Gianna,
    I absolutely love you to the moon, stars & back, you’re an amazing human being & the strongest woman I have the pleasure of being friends with. And the bond between us is still there no matter how long it’s been . You are forever in my thoughts & I hope my son has the pleasure of meeting you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ann · October 22, 2015

    this is so beautiful and amazing story.
    sure your father is looking down and smiling at you writing this.
    and for any one who does not like it they were never your true friends.
    and yes you were all ways a beautiful girl and now an amazing woman.
    your dad is proud of you them and now.
    ann

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tiffany Perrier · October 22, 2015

    Hey Giana,

    I’m so proud of you and all that you have been able to accomplish over these past couple years. I say that to you not only because of the beautiful passage you have written, but personally being in your shoes for 4 1/2 years now. if there is one thing I know it is that it is not easy. nothing is and especially being able to let your thoughts out for others to read. You are truly a special person and I know you will do amazing things in life with your dad rigt by your side. they say time heals all wounds, but to me, time doesn’t heal them. it grants me strength and peace to dig for those memories on my lowest days, cherish them on my highest days, and keep me going everyday. you too will find that strength if you haven’t yet, and your family will always be in gods hands! I know God has a plan for all of us, or so my mom says. But if there is one thing I believe, everything happens for a reason (which I’m still trying to wrap my mind around that) but also, always remember he gives his toughest battles to his strongest soilders. He would never bring us this far and leave us. Your dad is always with you and always will be not only with you but your entire family. I know the same for myself as well and my siblings. One day, you will regain all the time lost with him and you’ll have thousands of stories to tell, and he will just sit and listen and hold you and smile. you will truly be happy. I know we weren’t the closest of friends and hey that’s high school, that’s what’s meant to happen but just always know, I’ve been exactly where you are and still am and I know what it feels like especially under the same circumstances, but just know I am here for you always. Good luck with everything and school. keep working hard and make your dad proud, and keep up the writing. you are amazing!

    Like

    • giannafanelli · October 22, 2015

      You brought me to tears reading this. It means so much to me that you took the time to read my blog and I’m so happy that you liked it. I can’t express to you how much yours words mean to me and I would like to let you know I think you are an a amazing person and I’ve wanted to let you know that for sometime now. What we have been through is unexplainable and life changing. But I’m glad that you and I could come together to share thoughts and words to help each other through our hard days. God bless you and your family and I hope that life brings you happiness and everything you have ever wanted!

      Like

  4. amanda · October 22, 2015

    I’m not good with words but that’s huge of you to write that and I love you! That was beautiful xoxo. You a strong bitch

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Shelly · October 23, 2015

    Facing something like this, and choosing to learn from it, is one of the best gifts that your father could give you. Through something so painful you have chosen to find a positive and to help others with your pain. That says so much about the strong, caring woman that you have grown into. Anything that I have learned in my life is that you will continue to come to crossroads… times in your life when you are forced to choose to go left or right. It is your choice… the path you choose, and how you will face what comes from that choice. I am so very proud of you Gianna. What you have also proven to yourself is that there are no limits to what you can do when you choose to do it. Keep learning and growing baby girl! Life is so full of lots of good stuff… and as you now know, some of those “life lessons’ has to come from those hard times. Love ya Girl!!
    Aunt Shelly

    Like

    • giannafanelli · October 23, 2015

      I love you so much Aunt Shelly! That was so beautiful. Thank you for supporting me and for being their for me and my family! You rock ❤

      Like

  6. Colleen · October 23, 2015

    Hey pretty girl, this was beautifully written, so glad you shared your thoughts and I’m relieved that you finally know the truth. You are a wonderful person, a caring friend, and Dad would be so proud of you, just as he always was. He lives on in you and who you have become and who you will be. I still miss his smiling face over my fence. I owe you a hug.
    Love you Gianna ❤️

    Like

    • giannafanelli · October 23, 2015

      I love you so much! Thank you for reading and for being apart of my life! xoxox

      Like

  7. Angela · October 23, 2015

    Let me start by saying my grammar sucks too! This was beautifully written from the heart❤️Sometimes good things come out of terrible experiences! I see a writer in your future…was so touching to read😥…I think your father is smiling down at his beautiful daughter.

    Like

    • giannafanelli · October 23, 2015

      Thank you so much for reading ❤️ I appreciate the support and kind words. It means so much to me❤️

      Like

  8. labor&delivery RN · October 24, 2015

    I am a random nobody from Oklahoma waiting to clock into work when I stumbled onto this blog. You are SO BRAVE to write about something so painful & private. Not just for random people like myself to read, but people who you know. I applaud you for being transparent & real in such a fake world. I am so sorry for this traumatic experience that you & your family have endured. There is no kind of pain in this world like heartache. God bless you. Don’t ever stop putting one foot in front of the other.

    Like

    • giannafanelli · October 25, 2015

      Wow thank you so much for the positive feed back and thank you for reading my story. God bless❤️!!

      Like

Leave a comment